Math (and Science) in the Afternoon

Saturday, December 11, I spent a few hours with some wonderful girls at the Carnegie Science Center.  I visited the Girls, Math and Science Partnership’s Arts and Craft program to talk with these young ladies a little more about their experiences with math and science.  Although it was a short visit, they taught me a lot about how much students crave math and science!

While the girls worked on science and math related crafts, I interviewed them about why they liked math and science, what was hard for them, what they did when these subjects got hard, and the ways in which they wish science and math were more of a focus in their schools.  All of them wanted to see more hands-on approaches to learning these subjects.  One girl even wanted to know why she’s been on many field trips but never been on a math field trip.  As a teacher, they inspired me to think about the ways I teach math and science and the need to make sure these subjects are engaging because, as the girls told me, that’s what the students want!